Minutes from 4/1/15 Meeting (Approved 5/7/15)

Special Commission to Reduce the Recidivism of Sex Offenders
April 1, 2015, 3-5pm
One Ashburton Place, 11th Floor, Matta Conference Room

Meeting Minutes

Materials provided or presented at Commission Meeting:

Draft Minutes from 1/14/15 Meeting

4/1/15 Meeting Agenda

Information on 17th Annual MASOC/MATSA Joint Conference, distributed by Dr. Laurie Guidry

Commissioners Present:

Co-Chair Paul Brodeur, State Representative

Evandro Carvalho, State Representative

Deputy Assistant Secretary Robyn Kennedy

Larni Levy, Esq., Committee for Public Counsel Services

Nancy Connolly, Psy.D., Program Director, Mentally Ill/Problematic Sexual Behavior, Program of the Department of Mental Health

Raymond Knight, Ph.D., Gryzmish Professor of Human Relations, Department of Psychology, Brandeis University

Laurie L. Guidry, Psy.D., President, Center for Integrative Psychological Services, Inc., and President, Massachusetts Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers

Maureen Gallagher, Director of Policy, Jane Doe, Inc.

Marian Ryan, District Attorney for Middlesex County

Commissioners Absent:

Co-Chair William N. Brownsberger, Senate Chair of the Joint Committee on the Judiciary (represented by his designee, Anne Johnson Landry)

Robert Kinscherff, Ph.D., Esq., Associate Vice President for Community Engagement, Office of the President, and Teaching Faculty, Doctoral Clinical Psychology

Program, Massachusetts School of Professional Psychology

Edward J. Dolan, Commissioner, MA Probation Service (represented by his designee, Dianne Fasano)

Secretary Daniel J. Bennett (represented by his designee, Brian Domoretsky)

Senator Joan B. Lovely (represented by her designee, Brian Mirasolo) [per Anne Johnson Landry, who prepared minutes, this should have read “Grace Harrington” rather than Brian Mirasolo]

Anne Conners, Chairperson, Sex Offender Registry Board (represented by her designee, Maria Piccillo)

Anne Johnson Landry, acting as Senator Brownsberger’s designee, called the meeting to order.

Dr. Knight offered a correction to the draft minutes, which was approved unanimously by all Commissioners present and voting, upon a motion that was made and seconded. The minutes, as corrected, were approved unanimously by all Commissioners present and voting, upon a motion that was made and seconded. (Chair Brodeur had not yet arrived.)

The Commissioners, designees, and attendees took turns introducing themselves.

Beth Lind, Assistant Parole Supervisor, spoke to the Commission about the history and current practice of the IPSO (“Intensive Parole for Sex Offenders”) program. Ms. Lind took questions from the Commissioners and attendees.

The Commission reviewed its plan for upcoming meetings. The Commission decided to meet next on May 7, 2015, from 9-11 am for a presentation by the Sex Offender Registry Board. The Commission also decided to meet again on May 28, 2015 from 9-11 am for a presentation by the Committee for Public Counsel Services. The Commission agreed to allow the Chairs to plan a meeting for June for a presentation by the Department of Probation.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/annel/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 399

Make a Comment

Website maintained by the Office of State Senator William N. Brownsberger, Chair. Contact Anne Johnson Landry with any questions at annejohnson.landry@masenate.gov or at 617-722-1280.